Home > IRCK > Academic Conferences > International

IRCK delegates attend 11th Asian Regional Conference of IAEG on Engineering Geology in Nepal

Author:IRCK/NICK Published Time:2019-08-26

From November27 to December 1, 2017, a team of five researchers from IRCK headed by AssociateProfessor Meng Yan visited Nepal to take part in the 11th AsianRegional Conference of IAEG on Engineering Geology. The conference wassponsored by IAEG (International Association of Engineering Geology) andorganized by Nepal Geological Society (NGS). The Asian Regional Conference ofIAEG on Engineering Geology, which is held biennially, serves as an importantplatform for scientists in Asia and beyond to share academic findings andexperiences on engineering geology and related areas. During the period of the11th Conference, five researchers and technicians from IRCKdelivered two oral presentations and presented three posters, i.e., Earlywarning of karst collapse triggered by pile foundation construction in Xiamaoarea of Guangzhou" (Meng Yan); Analysis on the formation mechanism ofkarst collapse in Jili Village, Laibin City, Guangxi" (Dai Jianling); Teston the calibration of monitoring device on karst collapse based on BOTDRtechnology" ( Guan Zhende); Study on the methods of identifying hiddendangers of karst collapse geological hazard based on geological radar” (JiaLong); Classification of urban road collapse and the measures to prevent andcontrol the collapse ” (Wu Yuanbin).

During thisconference, the delegates from IRCK presented the types of karst collapse inSouth China, the major triggers and formation mechanism of karst collapse,shared the latest findings of IRCK in terms of karst collapse, and helpedexpand the international reputation and influence of IRCK. In addition, theywere updated of the latest research findings from other domestic and foreignresearchers in terms of landslide evaluation, formation mechanism, monitoringearly-warning and landslides induced by earthquake, etc.

Delegates from IRCK exchange information with Prof. Scott Burns, chair ofIAEG